What do I do if I test positive for COVID-19?
Submit the COVID Reporting Form (requires MyCollege login), isolate, and do not come to campus. Await further instruction from the SUNY Broome EOC or your local health department.
What should I do if a student (or multiple students) in my class test positive?
Submit the COVID Reporting Form (requires MyCollege login). Once the form is submitted, you will receive further instructions from the SUNY Broome EOC.
Do I need to quarantine or isolate if I’ve been exposed to COVID-19?
If you are fully vaccinated, you will most likely not need to quarantine after being exposed. However, you must continue to monitor your symptoms for 14 days after exposure.
If you are not fully vaccinated, you will have to quarantine for at least 10 days following an exposure.
Regardless of vaccination status, if you test positive for COVID-19, you must isolate and follow all isolation guidelines required by your local health department.
SUNY Broome follows state and local COVID-19 rules and regulations. Please visit the Broome County Health Department’s website and the New York State Department of Health’s website for more information on this subject.
Do I need to get a COVID-19 vaccination to attend SUNY Broome?
SUNY Broome students with an on-campus presence are required to be vaccinated against COVID-19 per New York State mandate. All unvaccinated students are required to be FULLY vaccinated by 9/27/21.
Submit your proof of vaccination information using:
Anyone vaccinated outside of New York State will need to upload a copy of their vaccination card. All students are required to complete this process.
Do I have time to get vaccinated?
All incoming students have until September 27 to complete a vaccination series. After September 27, any unvaccinated student will be at risk of being deregistered from their classes.
Am I required to be vaccinated to live on campus?
Do I have to wear a mask on campus?
Face coverings (masks) must be worn by all members of the campus community inside buildings..
Unvaccinated individuals must wear a mask at all times on campus and maintain social distancing where practicable. Exceptions to mask wearing include when individuals are (1) in their private residential, personal space or office, (2) eating meals while seated and maintaining social distance, or (3) by themselves.
What are my options if I do not want to get the vaccine?
Attend SUNY Broome by taking courses fully online. Students taking all online courses, do not utilize any on campus resources and are not employed on campus are exempt from the vaccination requirement.
Do I need to get tested?
All employees and students with an on-campus presence are required to participate in pool testing throughout the semester regardless of vaccination status. Testing frequency also depends on vaccination status:
Vaccinated: All vaccinated individuals must test week 1 and then every other week (bi-weekly).
Unvaccinated: All unvaccinated individuals must test every week of the semester.
Testing information will be emailed weekly.
How do I register and create a profile for testing?
What do I need to do before I get tested?
You must be pre-registered online and have a profile created before you get to the testing site.
- You need to bring a Personal electronic device (smartphone, tablet, laptop, etc.)
- You must not eat, drink, or smoke anything for at least 30 minutes before being tested. This includes chewing gum, mints, lozenges, smoking, vaping, or using smokeless tobacco.
- You must not brush your teeth or use mouthwash three hours before being tested.
If you have questions about the SUNY Upstate surveillance (pooled) testing program, please visit Upstate Medical’s pooled testing FAQ.
Where can I get tested?
Testing will be conducted in the Calice Connector area, first floor. Please monitor your SUNY Broome email for testing dates and times.
Testing will be done by walk-ins only, no appointment necessary.
How do I file a COVID-19 vaccine exemption form?
Contact Health Services at +1 (607) 778-5181 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org for exemption information.
No religious exemptions will be accepted for the Fall 2021 semester after 9/26/2021.